Three’s Not a Crowd

My 2013 was about trying out something new. And it was really fun to find two people who were willing to go on an adventure with me. It’s five cafés and restaurant in seven and a half hours. And each just shelled out PhP 600-750 each.

image

1st Stop: Cafe Quezon. We arrived early so it was the only open one at 9:15 am, that we could find with our eyes while checking out places as our cab driver drove along Maginhawa St. to V. Luna and back. They usually open at 9:30 am but they let us in early. It was a quaint café. I like the fact that they have different types of cheesecake which I have yet to learn to create.

image

I wasn’t wowed by the cakes. The mango cheesecake was too sweet. I didn’t think the chocolate went well with it. Jhanine said it wasn’t made from fresh mangoes because it was lacking that sour taste. She said that it might have been made of marmalade or puree. It tasted like dried mangoes which was a bit disappointing.

image

The Decadent was more promising. It’s not too sweet which I like because most chocolate cakes are too sweet for my taste. But the cake itself was a little course for me. I like fluffy but smooth cakes. And Jhanine said there’s too much shortening in it that’s why you have a lard aftertaste.

image

2nd Stop. Gayuma ni Maria. We saw it while in our cab tour along Maginhawa. Jhanine said she has always wanted to go this restaurant because the menu was different.This place definitely put a smile on my face. It’s as weird and eccentric as I am.The walls were adorned with potions. I took pictures of some and might try to make it at home to hone my witch skills.

Sig joined us at this point. He said he read the place is “enchanted.” He liked the place too. and he couldn’t take his eyes of the naughty nook.

I needed to go to bathroom and so I discovered the 2nd floor with its mannequins and a rack of raincoats. It’s topsy-turvy but in a good way.  The walls has hand painted hearts on a black background. Even the bathroom has character with it’s plants and stones.

image

Jhanine said she’s not a salad person but she enjoyed “Tuliro.” It’s a nacho salad concotion with lettuce, grapes, peach, chicken and bacon. The menu was as crazy and experimental as its name. I wouldn’t dare mix nachos with fruit and green salad. But it worked in “Tuliro.” Sig joined us at this point. He liked the place too. and he couldn’t take his eyes of the naughty nook.

I’ll definitely bring my quirky friends to this place one time.

image

3rd Stop. Katsu Cafe. They have branches in other areas within Quezon City. There’s even one in Banawe. Jhanine said it’s a cheaper version of Yabu. The place just opened. It does share the quirks of UP Village restaurant with its bulb enclosed in steel chandeliers.

image

As for the food, I loved the Prawn Tempura. It’s my favorite Japanese dish. And I also liked the Chicken Katsudon. But for the most part, everything was delish! We only paid PhP 925 for everything we ordered which were: three pieces prawn tempura set with unlimited rice, an ala carte three pieces prawn tempura, chicken katsudon, pork katsu with unlimited rice.

I wanted to go here because I wanted someone to be envious for not coming #HH Hahahahaha). I’ll bring him here or to the Banawe branch soon.

image

4th Stop. The Burger Project. I have seen the place on TV a few times and have heard of friends raving about it so when I saw that it’s along Maginhawa (during that cab drive by), I wanted to check it out. And now I know why!

image

It’s a bit pricey for those on a budget but I’ll tell you it’s  worth it. Our bill was PhP 380 and that’s already burger and fries. It’s still cheaper than other gourmet burger places I tried. We had one patty of the Angus beef in a sesame seed bun with bacon, mushroom, lettuce, gooey mozzarella, garlic sauce. I dub it “Three’s a Crowd” burger. We also ordered the chilli cheese fries and it went well with our burger. Visit it whenever you’re in the area.

image

5th Stop. Cool Beans. I was ready to call it a day when the place that Sig recommended was booked for an event. However, Jhanine was in the mood for coffee. And oh boy, I would’ve missed this last stop if I insisted to go home. It didn’t regret it that I let myself be bribed with a coffee and books since I love these two things.

image

I skimmed through the collection and they are not just for display. They have a great selection of books available for people to read.

image

Right now, for every PhP 80 drink,  you’ll get a banana cake slice for free. Here is my hot coffee latte which was only PhP 90 pesos. What can I say, I found another happy place. I’ll visit it again within the next few weeks.

About aiya

an eternal student of life View all posts by aiya

Leave a Reply

